Wednesday, September 24, 2014

Led Zeppelin - 1980-06-23 - Bremen

Led Zeppelin
June 23, 1980

01. Train Kept a Rollin'
02. Nobody's Fault But Mine
03. Black Dog
04. In the Evening
05. The Rain Song
06. Hot Dog
07. All My Love
08. Trampled Underfoot
09. Since I've Been Loving You
10. Achilles Last Stand
11. White Summer / Black Mountainside / Kashmir
12. Stairway to Heaven
13. Rock and Roll
14. Communication Breakdown

Plant barks aggressively as the band races through an explosive Train Kept a Rollin'. Bonzo forgets some of the breaks during Nobody's Fault But Mine, robbing the song of its dynamic tension. Plant's voice is a bit rough during In the Evening, he has trouble reaching some of the higher notes. The Rain Song is fantastic. As the song ends, Plant attempts to calm the rowdy crowd so Bonzo can introduce Hot Dog. Following All My Love, Plant announces "this is one we must dedicate to Phil Carson of Atlantic Records who, if he doesn't get his shit together shortly, will be... Trampled Underfoot." Bonzo mistakenly plays through the break following the guitar solo. Plant asks the crowd to stop pushing forward prior to a lackluster Since I've Been Loving You. As the song comes to a close, Bonzo can be heard shouting "be quiet, you cunt!" at the impatient crowd. The band plods through an uninspired Achilles Last Stand. Page gets a bit lost in the arrangement toward the end of the song. Plant delivers a powerful performance during Kashmir. Stairway to Heaven features an excellent guitar solo. Bonzo fumbles through the drum outburst at the end of Rock and Roll. The band closes the show with a violent Communication Breakdown. As the song ends, Plant announces "thank you, it's nice to be... back, goodnight."

1 comment:

Zen Archer said...