Thursday, September 25, 2014

Led Zeppelin - 1977-06-08 - New York City

Led Zeppelin
June 8, 1977
Madison Square Garden
New York City, NY

01 The Song Remains The Same
02 The Rover - Sick Again
03 Nobody's Fault But Mine
04 In My Time Of Dying
05 Since I've Been Loving You
06 No Quarter
07 Ten Years Gone
08 The Battle Of Evermore
09 Going To California
10 Black Country Woman - Bron-Y-Aur Stomp
11 White Summer - Black Mountain Side
12 Kashmir
13 Out On The Tiles - Moby Dick
14 Guitar Solo - Achilles Last Stand
15 Stairway To Heaven
16 Whole Lotta Love
17 Rock And Roll

Quite a mixed performance. It is just about possible to say Kashmir is a good version and Plant is in good voice on The Battle Of Evermore. The audience are loud and let off firecrackers periodically and are not very impressed by an uninspired Moby Dick.

Bonzo hammers at his drums with incredible intensity during the opening numbers. The crowd erupts as Sick Again comes to a close. Page shreds wildly through the guitar solo during Nobody's Fault But Mine. Jones delivers a dramatic piano solo during No Quarter, which develops into an upbeat honky tonk jam as Page and Bonzo join in. The guitar solo section is an epic journey with Bonzo leading the way. The band receives a rapturous ovation as the piece comes to a close. Plant urges Jones to "leave the Heineken alone" while waiting for him to retrieve the triple neck before an excellent Ten Years Gone. He hints at Gallows Pole before introducing Going to California as "a pictorial sketch of a conflict between a man and himself." There is a cut in the tape near the end of White Summer/Black Mountain Side. Plant delivers a strong performance during Kashmir. Bonzo thrashes wildly at anything within reach during a frantic Achilles Last Stand. Plant barks aggressively during the show-closing Rock and Roll.

1 comment:

Zen Archer said...