Thursday, September 25, 2014

Led Zeppelin - 1977-04-30 - Pontiac

Led Zeppelin 
April 30, 1977
Pontiac Silverdome
Pontiac, MI 

01 The Song Remains The Same
02 Sick Again
03 Nobody's Fault But Mine
04 In My Time Of Dying
05 Since I've Been Loving You
06 No Quarter
07 Ten Years Gone
08 The Battle Of Evermore
09 Going To California
10 Black Country Woman
11 Bron-Y-Aur Stomp
12 White Summer / Black Mountain Side
13 Kashmir
14 Out On The Tiles / Moby Dick
15 Guitar Solo
16 Achilles Last Stand
17 Stairway To Heaven
18 Rock And Roll
19 Trampled Underfoot

Zep plays to largest audience ever for single-act rock show

The attendance at Led Zeppelin's Silverdome concert tonight triumphantly shattered the band's own previous attendance record, a number unmatched by any other group in the last four years.

The audience of 77,229 at the Silverdome is the largest audience for a single-act concert. The previous record was 56,800 set in May 1973 at a Zeppelin show in Tampa Bay. On that historic day, the group surpassed the Beatles' 1965 attendance record of 55,000. Making a sum of £467,000 tonight, Led Zeppelin has finished the first leg of its 11th tour of North America. Upon returning, the band will tour the southern United States, beginning May 18 in Birmingham, Ala. [AP]

The last show of the first leg of the tour and what a way to end it! This is generally an excellent show on all levels, including an excellent No Quarter and some amazing guitar work on Since I've Been Loving You. Jimmy seems to be totally focused during the whole show and the concert as a whole is great. An interesting note is that this broke The Who's record for the highest attendance at a concert at the same venue by a little under 500 people.

Page's fingers race across the fretboard during a frantic The Song Remains the Same. Plant barks aggressively through Sick Again. Page blazes through the second guitar solo. As the song ends, Plant tells the crowd "it's very hard to play with everybody swishin' around, so I need you to stand still and dig it, and we will play and play... is that a deal?" Page shreds through the guitar solo during Nobody's Fault But Mine. As the Song ends, Plant once again commands the rowdy crowd to "stand still!" In My Time of Dying features the usual You Shook Me tease near the end of the song. Page is on fire during a mournful Since I've Been Loving You, introduced as "an English blues."

Jones's piano solo during No Quarter develops into an upbeat blues-rock jam an Page and Bonzo join in. The band stumbles a few times during Page's outstanding guitar solo. Ten Years Gone is introduced as "a song about the first love you ever had, the one you never forget." Going to California features some beautiful mandolin work from Jones. Unfortunately, the delicate atmosphere is ruined by a series of firecracker blasts. Plant delivers a powerful performance during Kashmir. His banshee howls echo over the crowd as the band hammers through the thunderous march. Bonzo is introduced as "the greatest rock and roll drummer in the world" before Over the Top. Unfortunately, the drum solo is incomplete. The beginning of Stairway to Heaven is met with a loud cheer from the crowd, followed by a barrage of firecracker blasts. Page delivers an excellent guitar solo. Plant announces "it's been an outright gas!" as the band returns to the stage to close the show with a wildly cacophonous Trampled Underfoot.

1 comment:

Zen Archer said...